Ray Caesar

Mourning_Glory ray caesar

Part of Suprarealism Pop, the works of Ray Caesar are among the most famous digital creations.

„I live in a brick house with my wonderful wife Jane and a coyote called Bonnie. I like eating avocados and I don’t really mind being a dog.” – Ray Caesar

official site:    http://www.raycaesar.com

„Your artwork has a dreamlike quality to it. Do any of the images in your pieces come from dreams you have had? If yes. Are there any dreams too difficult to translate?

I have a condition called Sleep paralysis in which I wake and cannot move and although I am awake I see and hear and feel things that doctors call hallucinations but I think they are something else. I have had some form of this since childhood but it came back in a very direct and powerful way after the death of my mother and sister. My mother died in my arms and as she died I was looking directly into her eyes and felt something move through me that changed my life. I began to have intense lucid dreaming and vivid episodes of waking dreams or visions. I had given up making art for many years and it was after these episodes that I began to realize there is a kind of doorway in the subconscious or the dream world to something I can only describe as the super-conscious or Hyper-reality. The condition of sleep paralysis is being studied at the University of Waterloo up here in Canada and it has some connection with narcolepsy. I choose neither to believe or disbelieve what I see but consign it to the realm of the irrational and use it in my purpose of making images…I feel we all connect somehow to this Super-conscious world through dreams and intuition and coincidence and the making of images is one of the best ways for the subconscious to communicate with the conscious. I am no mystic…I just experience something and choose to give that gentle thing a vehicle to become solid in the “real” world. Do I believe there is something beyond this life ? and that I have communicated with it ?…yes! Absolutely yes! I also believe we can all do it and it’s as simple as remembering your dreams and that can be done by not moving in the morning and speaking your dream aloud very softly to place the imagery and experience from one part of the brain to another. By repeating this practice you will begin to lucid dream ( to be aware in the dream that you are dreaming ) this comes about because you bring the dreams into the waking world and then the waking world starts to come into the dream world. Scientists have been able to replicate this experience and it is the cause of many religious experiences and such things as dream walking and many otherworldly experiences by many cultures. I don’t look for a rational explanation as its not important to me…I just experience it and leave it at that…sometimes I am glad I have it and sometimes I am not.”

source:      http://www.theworldsbestever.com/2008/11/12/10-questions-with-ray-caesar/

~ de AlinaT pe 13/09/2009.

Lasă un răspuns

 
